addictedtostationery

Just an ordinary girl with a love of all things stationery!

Attempting to decorate a Flex notebook spine…

on January 8, 2014

I tried to decorate the spine of a Flex notebook so it could be identified on a shelf – I love the notebooks because they’re narrow-ruled, which I have a bit of a thing for, and I love the squareness of them (strangely)!

I have an A5 Flex, but I’ve been having a clear-out. I wanted to take the notebook out of the Flex and sell the Flex itself, which is why I wanted the spine decorated.

I used washi tape, because I’ve seen it used on Rhodia notebooks before and I thought it might be a nice idea. I’ve got a purple, spotty roll of tape which I love, so I used that.

20140108-113326.jpg

It looks rather nice against the grey!

Unfortunately, it doesn’t stick very well on the plastic material of the notebook cover. It’s not very easy to see, but it started to come up off the cover by itself:

20140108-113451.jpg

20140108-113500.jpg

It lifts slightly by itself, which is a tad annoying. I considered sellotaping it down, but I tried it and it looked absolutely awful.

In the end, I came to the conclusion that I loved the Flex so much I actually wanted to keep him. Of course this negated the need for the washi tape – which wasn’t working anyway – so I took the tape off. He looks rather smart anyway, don’t you think?

20140108-114126.jpg

I think I’m just going to keep my Flex the way he is!

2 responses to “Attempting to decorate a Flex notebook spine…

  1. Tim says:

    Glad you’re keeping your Flex. Probably a good move. There’s a glut of unsold First Edition models around. New ones can be found (with notebook, jot pad and pen holder) for as little as £7 in the UK. Even Filofax itself has started selling them again!

    • snowyowl91 says:

      Indeed they can, as £7 is what I spent on mine! My local WH Smiths still sells the FE Flexes for £27! It seems there wouldn’t have been any point selling him then – I have a Magenta Slim Flex for sale on eBay which just isn’t shifting!

Leave a Reply

